Orange Storm

I seem to have a soft spot for Stormcast – something I don’t share with their 40k counterparts. Perhaps it’s because they’re not as ubiquitous as Space Marines despite being the poster child for Age of Sigmar, neither are they over-powered relative to other Underworlds war bands (on the contrary actually) and i do enjoy the creative opportunities afforded by such large frames abound with flat surfaces.

These minis are on the surface however, a failure. Emboldened by the outcome of my Wyrmblade Kill Team, I leapt with gusto into a follow up project that ultimately didn’t turn out the way I’d hoped. I’m actually happy with the result, Fanta coloured Stormcast fit my lurid aesthetic nicely, but I had hoped that the Magmadroth Flame was more of a highlight than a total saturation.

Essentially I’ve tried to imagine these hardy warriors as AI constructs inside cyberspace – as if they were ICE (if you’re familiar with cyberpunk/Android Netrunner) hence the limited and contrasting palette, the teal crossbows that look like nerf guns and the Black 2.0 bases that are reflecting too much light in these photos. I painted just the organic elements of the bases (sans skulls) white as if they were part of some rebellious eco-system fighting against the endless dark expanse!

I keep saying I need to paint some good old fashioned metal – I might actually follow through on the next project!

Recipe

Zenithal Prime
Chaos Black spray base coat
French Mirage Blue VMC airbrush
Pro Acryl Titanium White airbrush
Pro Acryl Titanium White dry brush

Cloak/armour/hide/claws
Nadir airbrush
VMC Prussian Blue 1:4 Airbrush Thinner
CC Doomfire Magenta airbrush
CC Magmadroth Flame airbrush
VGC Rosy Flesh dry brush
VGC Rosy Flesh edge

Ballistae
VMC Blue Green
Lahmian Medium 1:1 Coelia Greenshade tint
VMC Blue Green 2:1 AK Pastel Green highlight
AK Pastel Green edge

Drakan’s face
VMC Pale Blue Grey base coat
Nuln Oil wash eyes
VMC Pale Blue Grey 2:1 VMC White highlight

Bases
Black 2.0 base coat (several)
VMC Black Grey dry brush

Base detail
Russ Grey edge
VGC Ice Blue edge
VMC White edge

Leave a comment